6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Thu Sep 19, 2024 11:49 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 430 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 25, 26, 27, 28, 29
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 11:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2019 5:40 am
Posts: 346
Location: Knoxville, TN
Quick question about this, is it safe to turn the machine on to verify it works without any kind of clock generation for phi2? The emulation mode light should turn on at least verifying the CPU has some functionality, and that's what I'd like to do, but I haven't for fear of problems with that. I know the 65c816 is fully static, so there *shouldn't* be any issues, but I'd just like to confirm before I blow something up.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2019 1:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:50 pm
Posts: 3367
Location: Ontario, Canada
Is it even worth doing? With no Phi2 applied, the amount of functionality you can verify will be small to nil. Are there other goals, or do you simply wish to observe the state of the E (Emulation Mode) output pin? Anyway, no, you won't blow anything up. Just be sure (as always) to avoid any case where the input of a MOS or CMOS chip isn't pulled to a valid logic level, either high or low. In your test it sounds as if certain clock inputs will be left unconnected. These can float to invalid levels, and that can result in unexpected behavior and higher power dissipation.

-- Jeff

_________________
In 1988 my 65C02 got six new registers and 44 new full-speed instructions!
https://laughtonelectronics.com/Arcana/ ... mmary.html


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2019 4:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2019 5:40 am
Posts: 346
Location: Knoxville, TN
Dr Jefyll wrote:
Is it even worth doing? With no Phi2 applied, the amount of functionality you can verify will be small to nil. Are there other goals, or do you simply wish to observe the state of the E (Emulation Mode) output pin? Anyway, no, you won't blow anything up. Just be sure (as always) to avoid any case where the input of a MOS or CMOS chip isn't pulled to a valid logic level, either high or low. In your test it sounds as if certain clock inputs will be left unconnected. These can float to invalid levels, and that can result in unexpected behavior and higher power dissipation.

-- Jeff


Right, it's more just to verify that I've not connected anything improperly (there's a re-settable fuse that should blow if I did). The power dissipation is a problem though, and that's what I was worried about with the clock left floating. I suppose I'll just wait till the parts come in, rather than risking it now.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2019 6:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2019 5:40 am
Posts: 346
Location: Knoxville, TN
So I'm writing an assembler based on this information and a few other resources, in here, it seems to say that (dir, X) addressing mode for say ADC can only be used with X, and (dir),Y only with Y, is this true? or are X and Y interchangeable here? I plan on using this assembler to build bytecode for my machine from text files, also, I'm going to look at writing an emulator that has some peripherals like the text panel on mine, to play around with and use for testing.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2019 6:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2019 5:40 am
Posts: 346
Location: Knoxville, TN
I actually just answered my own question. Since using X or Y in an operand makes that a different opcode then it necessarily cannot be interchangeable, since those other opcodes do not exist. Sorry for the dumb question, when I get this finished I'll get it uploaded somewhere around here, I'm writing it in java so it should work fine on any system.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2019 11:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2019 5:40 am
Posts: 346
Location: Knoxville, TN
Just got through re-reading some of the programing information Garth has on his site, and took a look at his feature requests for any new assemblers being made. This assembler is turning into a slightly larger project than I had hoped when I started it 12 hours ago, but I still intend on finishing it, and trying to tie in all the requests Garth has, I'll start a thread on it soon so people can chime in if they're interested.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2019 8:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2019 5:40 am
Posts: 346
Location: Knoxville, TN
I got the eeprom in today and I'm having some trouble programming it, I've started a thread here to discuss it, any help is appreciated, I'm losing hair by the minute.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2019 9:07 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 1:28 pm
Posts: 10938
Location: England
Thanks for starting a new thread!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Mar 29, 2019 2:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2019 5:40 am
Posts: 346
Location: Knoxville, TN
So I haven't been back to this thread for a bit, thought I'd post a bit of status on the project.

I wrote the display driver, and have the RTC working, so last night I got the display showing the current time and date:

Attachment:
time_and_date.jpg
time_and_date.jpg [ 458.46 KiB | Viewed 742 times ]


(the month was set wrong in the image, I fixed that afterwards)

Today I'm going to see about setting up a rudimentary audio driver that will use VIA2's Timer 2 clock output to output square wave frequencies for a set amount of time.

I'll set up a git repo soon to share my assembly code, after I've finalized it a bit more.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Mar 29, 2019 6:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2019 5:40 am
Posts: 346
Location: Knoxville, TN
So, quick question, I'm using some leftover push buttons for a simple user input board. I've got 9 of them, and I've arranged them into 3x3 rows and columns. My plan is to do a matrix keyboard here, and I'd like to set up some hardware debounce to simplify initial software for them (although I will be implementing software debounce as well). My question is, should I be using a capacitor to ground from one column of button signals? I'm using 0.1uf caps that I have laying around. I'm just not sure if I need a cap at every button, or exactly what the organization should be with it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 430 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 25, 26, 27, 28, 29

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: