6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 6:46 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: New Verilog 6502 core
PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2016 10:46 pm 

Hello All,

I am new to 6502.org and would like to introduce myself. I am a lifelong electronics and software hobbyist and a professional electronics engineer. I recently auto-generated a Verilog 6502 core from the Visual 6502 transistor-level net list. Documentation and full source code can be found here:

http://www.aholme.co.uk/6502/Main.htm

You may also be interested in my other hobby projects:

http://www.aholme.co.uk/Projects.htm

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2016 11:31 pm 

Welcome. Cool implementation. Also liked the wide range of projects you list on your website.

PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2016 3:22 am 

Hi, Andrew -- nice to see your name turn up here. :)

Andrew Holme wrote:
I recently auto-generated a Verilog 6502 core from the Visual 6502 transistor-level net list.
Verilog generated from a transistor net-list? I must be confused -- could've sworn it was supposed to be done the other way round! :wink:

cheers,
Jeff

PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2016 9:59 am 

Welcome, Andrew, and congratulations! I think this might be the first successful effort to reduce the actual 6502 down to gates and to model them in an HDL using two-state logic - as you've found, the transparent latches, the bidirectional pass gates and the use of charge storage all make it quite a challenge.

The result is not only cycle-accurate but phase-accurate, and should be expected to perform some (but not all) of the undocumented opcodes.