6502.org http://forum.6502.org/ |
|
My Game Console http://forum.6502.org/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=2799 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | ElEctric_EyE [ Sun Dec 01, 2013 10:26 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: My Game Console |
I like your cartridge idea using the configuration PROM. For Xilinx FPGA a few here have used SPI FLASH for configuring and they're relatively cheap. Not sure for Altera FPGA's... Having a cpu program the FPGA sounds complicated. |
Author: | yzoer [ Sun Dec 01, 2013 11:11 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: My Game Console |
The altera EPC1's are about $3 or so, which is kinda pricey.. The idea behind sticking the configuration prom on the cartridge meant that every game could (potentially) have unique hardware. So if you wanted something 'special', that'd be easy to do. Configuring the FPGA using a CPU is pretty straightforward. Basically nothing more than bit-banging configuration data. Nice thing about that is that you can compress the config-data, store it in rom and then configure the FPGA. Even better, if you use the CPU to configure the FPGA you can do that at any time! So if you wanted to have a section in your game that uses vector graphics, just reconfigure the FPGA to become a math box -Yvo |
Author: | enso [ Mon Dec 02, 2013 2:37 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: My Game Console |
Your project looks great! However, partial reconfiguration of an FPGA is not really doable with low-end FPGAs. A full reconfiguration takes a few seconds, so you probably don't want to reconfigure your FPGA as a math box for a section of a game! |
Author: | yzoer [ Mon Dec 02, 2013 3:57 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: My Game Console |
Yeah, it's either all or nothing. Since I'm using an ancient EPF10K10 (576 LE's) configuration takes around 300ms or so, so that's totally do-able at runtime. Interesting side note: Since the FPGA is also responsible for decoding the address space, the CPU needs to be kept in reset until the FPGA is fully configured. -Yvo |
Author: | enso [ Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:47 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: My Game Console |
Interesting and cool. 300ms is just about fast enough... I guess you can't use the CPU to reconfigure the FPGA, so what are your options? |
Author: | yzoer [ Mon Dec 02, 2013 2:49 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: My Game Console |
In order to have the CPU re-configure it I'll need to move the address decoding portion and a flip-flop or two to hold configuration states. Either way, the plan is to re-design the board with a 6502 anyway -Yvo |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |