6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Sat Jun 15, 2024 9:51 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: Preferred License?
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 11:13 pm 

Hi there,

I am in the process of deciding which license to use for my implementation of the 65k processor (remember, the specification is free anyway, anyone can make their own implementation, it's only a license for my own one)

Note for the following discussion: I am not a lawyer! Take with care!

The purpose I want for the license is that anyone can use my 65k implementation, but I get the appropriate attribution. A good thing would be if someone uses it _and_ changes it, that the changes need to be published again, so that improvements can be shared.

In a (short) search I have seen web sites with LGPL(3) and dual licenses with LGPL and proprietary license. I am actually surprised that I did not find any BSD-style or Apache-style licenses.

Concerning commercial usage: I think that's fine with me. And I don't want my code to "infect" any commercial project. That's why GPL is out of the question. LGPL would allow linking the open source code to commercial code, without that infection, so that the commercial code can be kept proprietary.

As far as I understand (again, IANAL) with LGPL source code, and any direct modifications (to the open source code) must be made public when it is used. This is not the case with BSD or Apache-style, so the open source code can be taken proprietary and modified without the need to give the changes back to the public.

So currently I tend to the LGPL3.

So what is your opinion? Do you have preferred licenses? Any other considerations?

Many thanks
André

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 4:05 pm