6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Wed Sep 25, 2024 5:26 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Sun Nov 24, 2019 6:01 am 

I know that it a bit early for me to be thinking about this kinda thing since I'm quite new to building a computer, but I've been slowly but surely thinking of designs in my head for different pieces of hardware I could use in my future project. I've been sort of fixated on the idea of putting in a Yamaha sound chip into a 6502 machine and seeing if I can get it to play sound effects and music.

My first instinct was to use a YM2612 because of my fond memories of that very distinct "Genesis Sound", but it seems that all the documentation I found on it really seems to insist that I use it on a Z80 or 68000 instead. Is there any reason why a 6502 CPU wouldn't be ideal?

If it doesn't pan out, I found a few alternatives. Like the YM3526, that was used in the Commodore 64's sound expander or the YM3812 that was in the old AdLib cards.

I would hate to just use a SID chip, since just using the same sound chip of a pre-existing 6502 computer would kind of defeat the purpose of the project. But if its all I can do, it can't be helped, I guess.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 24, 2019 7:11 am 

EvilSandwich wrote:
I would hate to just use a SID chip, since just using the same sound chip of a pre-existing 6502 computer would kind of defeat the purpose of the project. But if its all I can do, it can't be helped, I guess.

More than the old SID chips, I just ran into the FPGASID 6581 and 8580 SID replacement available to buy, based on a modern FPGA. It has cycle-exact reproduction of the original parts, exact modeling of the analog parts leading to a result that is almost indistinguishable from the original, but adds extra features like wave tables, stereo sound, more voices, etc, while keeping full compatibility.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 24, 2019 7:44 am