6502.org Forum  Projects  Code  Documents  Tools  Forum
It is currently Tue May 14, 2024 6:54 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: Addressing Issues
PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2003 4:32 pm 

I am new to the world of 6502 and assembly language in general, and I have a question about addressing. How exactly does all this high/low stuff work? Say I look at address $20. Is this the low half of a 16 bit number with the other high half being at address $21? Can you think of even and odd addresses behaving as low/high pairs? Or am I missing the point entirely?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2003 9:29 am 

no, you seen to have it fairly right. I got a tad confused with the "little endian" bit, which is the LSB being first, THEN the msb (I was writing my code the other way around for results, bad habit to learn).

So fr example, if you have an address of $1234 and it stored at address $0000, you would have it like this:

$0000 $34
$0001 $12

And then to use the number...

LDA ($00),y
where the $00 points to the $0000 address as your pointer...

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2003 7:14 pm 

There isn't any even/odd effect going on, don't get hung up there.

Without rehashing decades of big-endian/little-endian arguments (please, no flames, I'm just trying to help here), here is one rationalization leading to an aid to visualization:

Rationalization

We in the west are used to a left-to-right order for writing we inherit from Greek and Roman traditions, most of us from the left-to-right recording of Latin language. Therefore we tend to visualize linear sequences as proceeding from left to right.

However, we cribbed our system of recording decimal numbers from Arabic and other sources, where the languages are written right-to-left instead. As we worked with other number systems we naturally continued this approach (binary, hexadecimal, what have you). The low-order digits are at the far right and each higher-order digit is written to the left of it in sequence.